Dorsoduro: Venice Hotel Accommodation Guide
Places to see in Dorsoduro
The Tourist Board of Venice recommends quite a few places to see in Cannaregio:
Church of the Gesuati
The order of the Jesuits was suppressed in 1868 and the church and monastery were handed over to the Dominicans. In 1724 the architect Giorgio Massari was commissioned to build the new church. The inside has no side naves but contains altar pieces by
Piazzetta, Sebastiano Ricci and Gian Battista Tiepolo. The latter was also commissioned with decorating the ceiling with illustrations of the history of the Dominicans.
Church of San Trovaso
The current building dates back to the end of the sixteenth century and is in Palladian style. It contains works by Tintoretto, Palma il Giovane and Gianbono.
Squero di San Trovaso
Located next to the church of San Trovaso, this is an unusual wooden structure that is similar to the houses of the Cadore area on the mainland.
This was an old dwelling for the workers of the Squero, a small shipyard for making gondolas. It dates back to the seventeenth century and has always been in operation. The fact that the workers often came from Cadore is the reason why the house is in the style of this mountainous area.
Church of S. Sebastiano
This church was designed by Scarpagnino in the sixteenth century. In 1555 Paolo Veronese began to create the many paintings that adorn the sacristy, the ceiling of the central nave and the apse of the main altar. At the foot of the organ, which is also decorated with works by Veronese, a stone indicates the place were the artist is buried.
Church of Angelo Raffaele
The foundation dates back to the seventh century shortly after Venice was first settled but the church was rebuilt in 1618. Inside, the organ nave contains a wash drawing by Giannantonio Guardi dated 1750 that depicts stories about Tobiolo.
Parts of this church and that of San Nicolò dei Mendicoli are the oldest in Venice.
Church of San Nicolò
One of Venice's oldest churches, it was founded by 'patavini' (inhabitants of Padua), who lived in the islands of the lagoon in the seventh century to escape the Lombard invasion. It was rebuilt in the twelfth century, and the central part of the facade dates back to
that period. The arch in the apse of the main altar is Byzantine.
This Palazzo was originally in Gothic style and belonged to the Morosini family. In the seventeenth century it was sold to the Zenobio family, who commissioned the architect Antonio Gaspari to completely renovate it. Inside, it is decorated with stuccoes by the Swiss plasterer Abbondio Stazio and with frescoes by Luigi Dorigny. The ballroom still contains the stand for the orchestra above the central door. Paintings by Carlevaris adorn the small portico. The fine classical portico overlooks the vast French style garden.
Scuola Grande dei Carmini
The headquarters of the Carmelite lay confraternity that provided assistance and charity. It was also dedicated to the cult of the Virgin Mary and was officially estabilished in 1595. The current seat was built by Longhena in 1667 on pre-existing smaller buildings. In 1739 Tiepolo painted pictures for the ceiling of the albergo (great hall) with symbols of the Virgin Mary and Saint Simeon Stock receiving the scapular of the Carmelite Order from the Virgin.
Santa Margherita Square
A picturesque campo surrounded by old fourteenth century palaces and the little church Santa Margherita, which is today a university auditorium. The old belltower still has Baroque stone decorations.
One of the most beautiful Palaces in Venice, it was started by Longhena for the Bartolomeo Bon family in 1667. It was completed for the Rezzonico family (who had become joint owners) by Giorgio Massari, who made considerable modifications, such as the large staircase and the ballroom, which was decorated with frescoes by Crosato. Today, it is a museum dedicated to eighteenth century Venice and contains period pieces taken from other palazzi, the most famous of which is the carved furniture by Andrea Brustolon.
San Barnaba Square and Ponte dei Pugni bridge
This is a typical Venetian campo where the boats selling vegetables coming from the islands moored. Nearby, there is the Ponte dei Pugni bridge. It takes its name from a spectacular dispute between two opposing Venetian factions, the Castellanis and the Nicolottis, who fought on the bridge and who left their footprints on it. The event was immortalised in the paintungs by Bella, housed in the Fondazione Querini-Stampalia.
Rio del Malcanton: once a dangerous place because it seems that one ran the risk of being robbed.
Sotoportego del Casin dei Nobili.
This building was the exclusive haunt of the Venetian nobility. The goings-on inside were certainly not so noble: gambling and 'ladies of the night'...
Rio de le Romite.
'Romite' is a dialect term for hermit. Pious women known as Augustinian hermits retired here. They were sometimes of very noble birth.
Campo de le Becarie.
There were many different butchers' shops here. 'Becaria' derives from 'Becco' or 'billy goat', which was meat that was butchered and sold here ('becher' is a dialect term for 'butcher').
Fondamenta della Toletta.
Before there were bridges in Venice wooden walkways known as 'tolette' were used to link one side of the canal to the other.
Next page: Dorsoduro hotel recommendations
Now check out the available accommodation:
Or look at the other sestieri:
Cannaregio | Castello | San Marco | San Polo | Santa Croce | Lido
Or search for hotels in all Venice by STAR RATING using the table below: