THE CHURCH OF ST GEORG WAS BUILT BY WEIKERSHEIM’S NOBLES:
One of the historic buildings on Weikersheim market square is the Lutheran Church of St Georg. The church was built under Konrad von Weinsberg, a nobleman, and his wife Anna von Hohenlohe-Brauneck between 1419-1425.
A Link to Weikersheim History
A series of renovations was carried out by succeeding rulers of Weikersheim. So, more than a place of worship, the Church of St Georg provides a link to some of the interesting history of Weikersheim and its rulers.
On entering the Church of St Georg, a tympanum relief in the left corner shows Konrad von Weinsberg, his wife Anna and their two children. This relief was originally set over the main portal and shows Konrad and Anna holding a model of the church. The tympanum is decorated by vines which is a derived from Konrad’s name “von Weinsberg”.
One of the highlight attractions in this church is the so-called “Weikersheimer Prinzle”, the little prince of Weikersheim. The epitaph, which dates from 1437, commemorates Duke Heinz von Sachsen-Lauenburg, grandson of the founder. The little boy came to Weikersheim at a young age to live with his maternal grandparents. He died in 1437, at the young age of six, and was buried in the church.
The epitaph is significant from an art history perspective as it is one of the oldest post-classical portraits of children. Surrounding the rosy-cheeked young boy are four coats of arms, reflecting his noble ancestry.
Expansion of the Church
The Church of St Georg went through several changes and renovations over time. When Count Wolfgang Ernst von Hohenlohe moved his residence to Weikersheim in 1586, he began to expand the city and the church as well. The top part of the tower was built around 1590. We had hoped that we would be able to climb to the top, but no such luck.
With the advent of Reformation, the church was converted to Protestant requirements. The pulpit became the new focus point, so that the congregation could “gather around the word of God”.
The altar table was also created around 1590. The main picture is a portrayal of the Last Supper. Judas can be seen, on the right hand side, with a sack of money. He is the only one looking out of the picture. With a questioning gesture, he seems to be asking the viewer “Is it true that I, the traitor, am also allowed to take part in the Lord’s supper?”
Church Music in Weikersheim
Church music has always played an important role in Weikersheim. In 1612, an organ was installed, replacing an older one. The present richly carved facade dates from 1766, but with the benefit of a more recent modernization carried out in 1976.
Other Church Improvements:
- In 1616-1618, Count Georg Friedrich built the chancel and the two east towers.
- In 1722 new bells were added and a clock on the West Tower.
- In 1934 another renovation took place taking the church to its present form.
- In 1966 the font was transferred from Lichtel in Creglingen to Weikersheim. It dates from the 14th century.
Church of St Georg
Opening times: 09:00 to 18:00